Massachusetts State House

Designed by Charles Bulfinch, the ‘new’ and current State House has served as the seat of Massachusetts government since its opening in 1798. Holding the legislative and executive branches, it sits adjacent to the former site of the historic Hancock mansion. 

Visiting Massachusetts State House

24 Beacon St.
Boston MA 02108

Links for mobile use.

24 Beacon St.
Boston MA 02108

Directions (617) 727-3676

Managed by the Secretary of the Commonwealth's Office, State House Tours Division

Secretary of the Commonwealth

Access Information

  • Wheelchair Accessible
  • Bowdoin Street,
    Boston, MA 02108

  • Restrooms
  • Large Print
  • Assistive Listening Device
  • Braille

Three Branches of Government

House of Representatives

The Massachusetts House of Representatives has 160 representatives elected for 2-year terms. It is also home to the Sacred Cod, the good luck mascot of the House of Representatives.

House of Representatives


The Massachusetts State Senate has 40 senators elected for 2-year terms. Their current chamber resides under the Golden Dome.

Senate Chamber

Executive Branch

Since Massachusetts’s first freely elected governor, John Hancock, 71 governors have served as the head of the executive branch. Currently, Massachusetts’s governors hold 4-year terms and work in the West Wing of the State House.

Executive Offices

Choose to visit Previous or next Sites on the Freedom Trail